mütter’s winterreise

Notes by Otto Brusatti (Musicologist, Musiksammlung der Stadt Wien, ORF)

Before their first presentation, Franz Schubert had called all these numbers "schauerliche Lieder" (atrocious songs). His cycle, encompassing 24 pieces for singing voice (high tenor?) and piano were published (1828) in two parts during his lifetime as Opus 89, and listed in the later Deutsch-Verzeichnis as Number 911.

To a great extent, Bertl Mütter takes Schubert at his word. Firstly, he retains the flow and the basic structures. Secondly, he treats the songs, thoroughly modern in their time, in a manner modern for today. And thirdly, he doesn't shy away from making his own flesh creep, nor from letting others shudder with him. To do all that he needs only a little piece of brass, even less electronic acoustics, but in any case voice, larynx, breath, style, audacity and courage.

Schubert wrote it all down in 1827. In two slices, however. Back then the apparently word-devouring reader Schubert received new texts from Wilhelm Müller, whom he had once before described as a brilliant lyricist. This time, however, there were no distressful puberty laments of a young workman which expanded to become the "Schöne Müllerin" (Pretty Miller maid). No, this time it was all contained in two slim pamphlets, a softcover book "Urania," and a title Gedichte aus hinterlassenen Papieren eines reisenden Waldhornisten (Poems from papers left behind by a traveling horn player). Schubert started setting it to music immediately. Of course later musicology, both amazed and frustrated, is still at a loss to know why Schubert initially composed music to only the first twelve poems. He may have very well thought that as the pattern was already set, the story remained more or less open. He received the second batch of text months later, and he resumed writing as if nothing untoward had occurred.

The modern Herr Mütter doesn't waste time with such trifles regarding the genesis of the work. Grand, unencumbered and somehow powerful too, he is as understanding of and familiar with physical manipulation of his instrumentarium as he is with the assembling and inhaling of his Schubert. A naÏve ingenuous Polyphem stands there on the stage, bustling, blatant, flashing, scurrying, in constant action. Whether the people before and below him become restless, or whether they look up at him inadmissably fascinated, seems to trouble him hardly at all. Mütter visits his Schubert and works with him.

The 24 Lieder (12 + 12, no matter what Schubert provides as a workshop designation) narrate a story. An obviously quite young man, a small-souled poet, a softy inclined to dementia, marches on a rather speedy beeline out of a small town, also leaving behind a girl friend/beloved/naÏf (?); he feels—as does every forsaken and misunderstood person before and after him—that he has been ridiculed, hastened on his way; he howls; he digs his fingers into the snow, works himself up in memories past, spilling over with jealousy. In the fifth song, already exhausted, he comes to a linden tree (afterward Schubert must suffer time and again the stigma of being a wrongly understood folk musician); he calms himself, and apparently finds a bit of rest. Apparently. For the psycho-path and the futile self-analysis now really come into their own!

For the present Mütter limits himself to the pattern. At first. He sings, swaggers, blows, produces polyphony with his instrument. Schubert in a clouded mirror, Schubert indistinct, sometimes brought forth to a clearly visible point. Sometimes—excessive and sparse simultaneously—with electroacoustic underpinning. Showing up rather more incidentally than from any original model.

But meanwhile the Winterreisen interpretation develops, with trombone and euphonium and computer and music stand—and above all, many many notes from the one in the limelight and somehow also from a child at play. But more about that later.

Now, in the original Schubert it moves slowly for the first time toward preservation. Tears, tears, tears. Everything as if taken from the freezing compartment. And all of it instantly mirrored in harmonic repetition. A stream accompanies the winter traveller, ice above him, heat below. The first hallucinations present themselves. One imagines that he sees a will-o'-the-wisp, becomes exhausted,
yet continues to reminisce, dreams of flowers, awakes, really no longer knows where and when—the human being mutates to one who is ever longing, somehow expelled from his little Paradise, becomes a problem psychological case. Then, at the end of the first dozen songs, eulogies to loneliness, has the winter traveller come to terms with himself, reconciled himself to his destiny, drawn a line under his life up till now?

In the meantime Mütter has also left his own impressionism under the linden tree, and by the use of echo effects makes one individually difficult cortege after another, becomes exuberant, wants to be an opera singer, moans, now and then leaves all his instruments behind. His fen fire resembles a foghorn. His repose is uneasy, his springtime dream a whimpering infant, his loneliness disabling, a dullard.

Then. The second section.

For Schubert, properly speaking, "Post" promises relationships once again, harnesses, roped-together climbing teams. Then resignation. One sees himself as one grown old and anticipates the tranquillity that comes with aging. Then one entertains himself with the strange world of animals. As a winter traveller, one searches for natural metaphors in order, somehow, to busy himself intellectually; of course—Nature!—she is hostile (as always) and bites. Another storm, a chilling down as if after a sauna—a temporary self-induced recovery?

Mütter also plays postman, cooing from that ancient head and accompanying a crow, his natural experience appears as if through a veil; tomorrow's storms occur mainly within his cranium and emerge from a clamourous blabbering mouth.

For Schubert it's the final round. Fen fires once again. Delusions—a signpost and the wrong road—taverns as compliant graveyards—wholly absurd convulsions, and nerving oneself to be brave—then the mock suns, parhelions, blind spots on a curtailed heaven—the legendary organ-grinder, the anti-guardian angel.

Mütter becomes ever more silent; he mourns, as it were, for and with himself and his instruments; then that bit of grieving bores him and he's back in order again, singing lustily to break the monotony; the mock suns are once more songs of aging and a puppet show for astronomers and astrologers; the organ-grinder lingers long, an unpleasant offensive sound (but in any case, Schubert wanted it thus), one requires lots of air for dealing simultaneously with song and instrument, one needs to exhaust himself.

Then, after the introduction of the organ-grinder, he accompanies the winter traveller on his flight to suicide, to his own extermination, to the other world—whatever the case may be. Silence, abundant silence.

It is reported that back then when Schubert presented his Winterreise for the first time to a circle of friends, they were rather at a loss, even dumbfounded, at all events not particularly happy with it.

After his presentation/performance (significantly in the Schubert Salon of the Vienna Concert House), Mütter received a great deal of applause, after an inititial silence, for deep weariness followed after the tensioned instrumentality of his offering. In addition, some were rather at a loss, even dumbfounded, at all events not particularly happy with it.

And that should be considered as a compliment.


Otto Brusatti, June 2001
Translation: David Koblick

Nach oben

agenda

 

bio

solo

ensemble

komposition

dramaturgie

text

workshop

schule des staunens

 

audio

foto

video

 

finden

impressum

 

muetter.at
muetter.at
muetter.at

mütters winterreise

von otto brusatti

Franz Schubert hat das alles angeblich vor ihrer Erstpräsentation „schauerliche Lieder” genannt. Sein 24 Einzelstücke umfassender Zyklus für Singstimme (heller Tenor?) und Klavier wurde gerade noch zu Lebzeiten (1828) gedruckt, als op.89 in zwei Heften, im späteren Deutsch-Verzeichnis als Nummer 911 verzeichnet.

Bertl Mütter nimmt Schubert über weite Strecken hin wörtlich. Erstens: er behält Ablauf und Grundstrukturen bei. Zweitens: er geht mit den damals durchaus ganz modernen Liedern auch heutig modern um. Und drittens: er scheut sich nicht, selbst zu schaudern und alle anderen gleich mitschaudern zu lassen. Und dazu benötigt er nur ein wenig Blech, noch weniger an Elektroakustik und jedenfalls aber Stimme, Kehlkopf, Atem, Feschheit, Frechheit und Mut.

Schubert hat alles 1827 niedergeschrieben. In zwei Tranchen allerdings. Der offenbar verschlingende Leser Schubert bekam damals neue Texte des von ihm schon einmal so genial vertonten Wilhelm Müller in die Hand. Diesmal waren's aber keine fatalen Pubertätsleiden eines jungen Handwerkers, welch dann sich zur „Schönen Müllerin” ausweiteten. Diesmal handelte es sich um zwei schmale Bändchen, einem Taschenbuch „Urania” und einem namens „Gedichte aus hinterlassenen Papieren eines reisenden Waldhornisten”. Schubert schlug vertonend sofort zu. Allerdings, und deshalb greift sich die nachgeborene Musikwissenschaft noch allemal weiterhin verwundert-frustriert auf den Kopf, Schubert komponierte zuerst nur die ersten 12 Gedichte. Dann meinte er wohl, es sei mit den Vorlagen vorbei, die Geschichte bleibe mehr oder weniger offen. Nach Monaten erst bekam er die zweite Textlieferung – und er schrieb weiter, als wäre
nichts geschehen.

Der moderne Herr Mütter hält sich mit solchen Kleinigkeiten in der Genese erst gar nicht auf. So groß und ausladend und auch irgendwie mächtig er sich körperlich mit seinem Instrumentarium zu bewegen versteht und gewohnt ist, so vereinnahmend inhaliert er seinen Schubert. Ein naiver kahler Polyphem steht da auf der Bühne, ist geschäftig, ist laut, ist verhuschend, lauschend, in action. Ob die Leute da vor und unter ihm unruhig werden oder gar schon unstatthaft gebannt aufblicken, es scheint ihn kaum zu kümmern. Mütter besucht seinen Schubert und arbeitet mit ihm.

Die 24 Lieder (12 + 12, egal was Schubert da für Werkstattvorgaben liefert) erzählen eine Geschichte. Ein offenbar noch jüngerer Mann, ein Seelchen und ein Dichter, ein Softie und ein zum Delirierender Neigender, verläßt ziemlich schnurstracks, ziemlich rasch dahinmarschierend (die Klavierbegleitung schreibt das vor) eine Kleinstadt und eine Freundin/Geliebte/Naive (?); er sieht sich – wie jeder Verlassene/Unverstandene vor und nach ihm – verspottet, gehetzt; er heult, er krallt sich im Schnee fest; er steigert sich in Erinnerungen hinein; die Eifersucht schwappt nur so aus ihm heraus. Im fünften Lied kommt er, schon erschöpft, zu einem Lindenbaum (Schubert wird nachher immer wieder zum falsch verstandenen Volksmusiker herhalten müssen); er beruhigt sich; er findet scheinbar etwas Ruhe. Scheinbar. Denn der Psycho-Weg und die vergeblichen Eigenanalysen gehen jetzt erst richtig los!

Mütter hält sich zunächst noch an die Vorlagen. Zunächst. er singt, stolziert, bläst, macht mit seinem Instrument Mehrstimmigkeiten.

Schubert im blinden Spiegel, Schubert verwischt, manchmal über Maßen auf den Punkt gebracht. Manchmal – maßlos und zugleich wenig – elektroakustisch unterstützt. Noch gelegentlicher aus irgendwelchen Original-Vorlagen anzitiert.

Währenddessen aber entwickelt sich der Winterreisen-Exeget mit Posaune und Euphonium und Computer und Notenpult und vor allem vielen vielen Zetteln vom Rampensteher irgendwie auch zum spielenden Kind – doch davon später noch mehr.

Im Original-Schubert gehts jetzt langsam erstmals ans Eingemachte. Tränen, Tränen, Tränen. Alle wie aus dem Tiefkühlfach. Und sofort das Ganze gespiegelt, in harmonischen Rückungen. Ein Bach begleitet den Winterreisenden, Eis drüber, Hitze drunter. Die ersten Halluzinationen stellen sich ein. Man vermeint ein Irrlicht zu sehen, ist erschöpft. Reminisziert doch andauernd, träumt von Blumen, erwacht, weiß eigentlich nicht mehr was und warum, der Mensch mutierte zum Sehnenden und irgendwie aus seinem kleinen Paradies Vertriebenen zum Psycho-Problem-Fall. Dann, am Schluß des ersten Dutzend der Lieder, das Besingen der Einsamkeit, der Winterreisende arrangiert sich, hat sich in sein Schicksal gefügt, zieht einen Schlußstrich unter das bisherige Leben?

Mütter hat inzwischen auch seinen Eigenimpressionismus unterm Lindebaum verlassen, macht sich mit Echo-Wirkungen einen individuellen schweren Kondukt nach dem anderen, übersprudelt sich dann, will Opernsänger sein, jammert, vergißt gelegentlich auf alle Instrumente. Sein Irrlicht gleicht einem Nebelhorn. Sein Rasten ist nervös, sein Frühlingstraum ein jammerndes Kleinkind, seine Einsamkeit die eines Behinderten, eines Dodels.

Dann. Zweite Abteilung.

Die Post verheißt bei Schubert noch einmal Bindungen, Stricke, Seilschaften an und für dieses Früher. Resignation dann. Man sieht sich als Altgewordener und hofft auf die Altersmilde in sich selbst. An der kauzigen Tierwelt belustigt man sich dann. Als Winterreisender sucht man Naturmetaphern um sich irgendwie noch geistig zu beschäftigen; allerdings – Natur! – sie ist feindlich (wie immer) und beißt. Ein Sturm noch, eine Abkühlung wohl wie nach einer Sauna – ein temporäres Sich-Erholen?

Auch Mütter spielt Post, kräht aus dem Greisenkopf und begleitet eine Krähe, seine Naturerlebnisse geschehen durch einen Schleier, die Stürm am Morgen spielen sich vor allem in seinem Kopf und aus dem schreienden, blubbernden Mund ab.

Bei Schubert geht's in die Schlußrunde. Abermals Irrlichter, Täuschungen – Wegweiser und falsche Pfade – Wirtshäuser als gefügige Totenäcker – völlig sinnloses Aufbäumen und ein sich-selbst-Mutzusprechen – die Nebensonnen dann, die blinden Flecken am veruntreuten Himmel – der legendäre Leiermann, sozusagen der Anti-Schutzengel.

Mütter wird auch immer stiller; er trauert quasi um und mit sich selbst und seinen Instrumenten; dann wird ihm das bisserl Trauern auch schon wieder ordentlich fad, man schmettert zur Abwechslung; die Nebensonnen sind wieder Greisengesang und eine Kasperliade offenbar für Astronomen und Astrologen; der Leiermann dauert lang, ein unangenehmer, ein verletzender Bordun (aber Schubert will das sowieso auch so), man braucht viel Luft für das Instrument und den Gesang gleichzeitig, man hat sich zu verausgaben.

Dann, nach der Einladung an den Leiermann, den Winterreisenden auf seiner Flucht, in seinen Selbstmord, in sein Eigenauslöschen, in die Gegenwelt – was eben auch immer – zu begleiten: Stille, viel Stille.

Es wird berichtet, daß damals, als Schubert seine Winterreise erstmals im Freundeskreis vorführte, man etwas ratlos, ja vor den Kopf gestoßen, jedenfalls aber nicht eben froh gewesen. Mütter bekam nach seiner Präsentation/Performance (bezeichnenderweise im Schubert-Saal im Wiener Konzerthaus) viel Applaus, auch viel Stille zurückgegeben, dann viel Müdigkeit nach einem angespannten Verfolgen seiner Darbietungen dargebracht. Außerdem sind einige auch ratlos gewesen, vor den Kopf gestoßen, nicht eben recht froh.

Und das sollte ein Kompliment sein.


© Otto Brusatti, Juni 2001

muetter.at
muetter.at
muetter.at