grenzkæmpfe | fighting on the border


bertl mütter solo

cd arbe 2 | isbn 978-3-85129-643-3

first edition 1993 (sold out)
second, substantially revised, redacted and revisited, new and in many ways improved edition 2007

 

preface to the first edition (1993)

time has come for me to document my solo work of recent years. all the tracks on this cd were recorded live in concert, though not before a live audience. the music was performed in three places: in the neutral, private atmosphere of the studio, in the public place of worship at the basilica of mariazell, and in the underworld of the water reservoir rosenberg I in graz.

 

preconditions for a second edition (2007)

out of print. a phrase that lights up the eyes of vendors trading in rare books and recordings. when my distributor, the simply heaven-sent wieser verlag, inquired after a modest quantity of fighting on the border—and, even after i’d searched every nook and cranny of my storeroom, i had to respond with a woeful ‘sorry, sold out’, i knew it was time. the inability to fulfill this unexpected request (it must have been immense, more precisely: thirteen! o’ but what a number, what a hit! came at me from out of nowhere with a taste of fame: to produce a legacy in one’s own lifetime, the euphoric dream of every artist and producer to reproduce himself. it was immediately apparent: time has come for a second edition, the market is veritably screaming for it.

 

preface to the second edition (2007)

i don’t like borrowing books. i have a propensity—it comes in waves—to scribble them full: what i really like (!), what amuses me (☺), what I find questionable (?), what i’d like to note and be ready to cite off the tip of my tongue later (a vertical line in the margins, or underlining of the entire passage, without using a ruler); what is more, the book comes out of it pocked with paper clips (dogears are taboo). years later, upon revisiting any book i’ve thus made my own, i wonder: huh, did i make that mark? i’d take note of something else altogether today; a lot has gotten clearer since then, but many a thing less so, contexts have fallen by the wayside, others, connections, networks, have emerged. at any rate, a stranger stares out at me from the book, a stranger that is me.
as long as we live, there can be no end result. today i am forty-two, but at the same time, am just turning four, seven, eleven, eighteen or twenty-nine. the question is what will have made its mark like a tree ring or a leaf?, and there are many who claim to be evergreens.
looking back at this booklet (in its first edition) has been like that: is that who i really was? is that who i really am?—you bet it is! and that’s precisely why i decided to combine those original texts with my current, equally preliminary, positions. more on that in the editorial note to follow.
bethatasitmay: you’ve got to stop somewhere (here: at the publ. deadline). inotherwords: every fragment is eo ipso complete.

 

editorial note on the second edition (2007)

with the release of this new, completely revised edition, fighting on the border looks back on thirteen years of existence in its entirety. in fact, it’s not hard to reconstruct preliminary studies dating back as far as 1991. completely stunned by what seemed like a sudden and unanticipated demand, we seriously began to consider and, after a period of intense discussion, decided to proceed with the substantial editorial effort involved in releasing a second edition, whereby we quickly realized that a mere facsimile of the original would hardly suffice, but that we would have to completely re-work the material from the bottom up, to expand upon it and, with an eye for precise documentation of its genesis, to bring it entirely up to date; hence, since we’d since recognized the need to supplement the dates of recordings with an exact citation of the century, we also took great care in adhering strictly to expanding the work on the basis of a principle that ensured the quality in an enduring way, recordings of new or newly rediscovered little gems whose true significance has only now emerged, indeed, we sought to avoid any attempt to foreground modern trends in music because that’s the only way we could effect our desired goal of allowing for a substantial deepening of understanding and expansion of content far removed fashionable currents, even the fashion of modernism, ultimately creating a work that is complete in and of itself, though not by any means, as we shall soon see—horribile dictu!—a cold or closed case: a work for which, as we have seen, there is demand among experts in the field and interested laypeople alike and which thus contributes to filling a gap, bearing in mind that absolute perfection can never be achieved, not entirely, which is why, at the same time, we would be remiss in neglecting to express our appreciation of your patience and understanding because it had to be this way, not least of all due to the constraints of time in completing this new edition which succeeds in bringing things up to date with respect to certain basic content issues, but which could not include improvements that would have required additional research and more extensive deliberations as well as systematic bibliographic entries that in many cases, though not in every case, had to be put off with a promise to take them up some time in the future, and that is where we have set our sights—however pessimistic, however indifferent or, however hopeful this may be, we do hope our future prospects include the prospect of making the ongoing improvements as need arises, including making periodic updates available electronically, which—since we are working with the latest state-of-the-art technology—will not only satisfy today’s needs, but those of tomorrow with the promise of promising to open new prospects for future generations to investigate.

 


1    gedscho    5:52

graz, april 12, 1991; aad
trombone, voice

1993
(–)

2007
hmmm. acrobatic virtuosity.
post festum i’d like to dedicate the heroically high b-flat following the cascade of triplets to mr. marsalis and his ferocious knights in the deployment force of the international jazz police.
please do not pay any mind to the charming pre-reverb caused by the analog tape (but i suppose it’s too late for that).
ohand: i left the police whistle out of the instrumentation list, thereasonbein’: we’reon


2     „... denn die grenzkaempfe hoeren niemals auf...” /
        „...for the fighting on the border never relents...”
    28:06
basilica mariazell, may 10-12, 1993
trombone, voice, live electronics

commissioned by the feldkirch forum, vorarlberg
premièred april 23, 1992 in st. nikolaus cathedral at feldkirch


1993
we imagine that we are on firm ground when really we stand on the cutting edge. only a veil separates us from the abyss. yet we always call to account the more optimistic figures in any table of statistics. our chances of winning the lottery are smaller than those of us dying of cancer. to constantly remind ourselves of this fact would tear us to shreds. in the here and now these statistics are meaningless. what good is it to the person involved in a plane crash to know that flying is the safest form of transport?
grand pronouncements may be empty and made in vain, the smallest deviation might trigger a catastrophe. a three-degree deviation to the left of a straight line will have more impact than a 90 degree turn on a crossroad. it all depends on the context.
fighting on the border: that means, literally, there is war in the south. danse de la fureur. this sequence of octavized trombone is based on olivier messiĺn’s quatour pour la fin du temps, call for the revocation of time.
but it’s not all gloom and doom. these slight deviations can call forth miracles, too—at least that's what i'd like to believe. rise up, and when time comes to let go, move on: "as long as you keep climbing, the stairs will keep coming, they will continue to emerge before your feet as you climb." (franz kafka)

2007
that sanctuary—then not yet renovated—was a very live room. i have an especially intense memory of the way i prepared the dummy head microphone for what was ahead by letting the strains of mahler's trinklied vom jammer der erde/drinking song of the world's woes rip through the basilica—sung by fritz wunderlich, of course—the song is as pagan as they come. but the space was re-catholicized by the hommage ą messiĺn, if only to pass show.

there’s always war to the south, sometimes more to the east, sometimes less, unrelenting internal fighting on the border; andyetatthesametime: “earth is a violent paradise.” (ryszard kapuściński)
unvarnished, throughandthrough, that’s ftfatbnr, when i listen to it again, in awe, at any rate, an affirmation for letting go of bad compromises.
a dark encourager.

 

3     de profundis     5:24
water reservoir rosenberg I, graz, june 9, 1993
trombone, voice

1837
”the a-flat major scale is the key that releases the soul to the realm of the supernatural and encompasses the divine retribution of the afterworld or a higher providence... (it) represents the sense of solemnity aspirating in god’s peace and elevates to the infinity of blissful emotion (...) but that profound longing can also assume a darker color or mingle with melancholy (...)”
ferdinand gotthelf hand, musical aesthetics, leipzig 1837-41

1993
3
if thou, lord, shouldest mark inquieties,
o lord, who shall stand? (...)
6
my soul waiteth for the lord
more than they that watch for the morning.
(psalm 130)


2007
dark, and furthermore, oppressively beautiful. looking back, i confess, it’s more a patent dismissal than a blubbering plea. and in the end, this warmth emerges in the key of a-flat major. not even the slamming door can chase that away.
there’s some crackling in the recording—such is life. you either decide to be charitable and let it be, orinstead are amazed that the artist, already in 1993, just before the turn of the millennium, had foreseen that dj-re-mixed crackling sound of side-burned, turn-whatever-trips-your-trigger-into-art standard that had established itself as the must-have non plus ultra in art around the turn of the millennium, and was able to apply it so painfully well.

 

4     idylle/idyll    6:42
graz, april 12, 1991; aad
trombone, voice, small instruments

1993
idyll.

2007
once again, notjazz.
the person who made this recording is a prof today. i could have guessed.
idyllic.

 

5     palimpsest     10:17
basilica mariazell, june 8, 1993
voice, trombone, ocarina, triton shell, live electronics

1993
palimpsestos (greek) – threadbare parchment, used for a second time. past layers can be read; mahler, schubert.

2007
it’s actually a paradox: a palimpsest, recorded in one sitting, as a first take.
ocarina, mahler’s wie ein naturlaut, the haut goût of the triton shell. then, wie ein kondukt, he meanders looking for the way to the great symphony, and finds it, hiding behind a cloud of sound (or is it the eddying whitewater?), and for the first time ever, he wants to take off with the guy tottering to and fro, barefoot on the ice. but he lingers anyway, the scraping notwithstanding.

 

6     aequale (malus)     1:41
choir chamber in the monastery st. lambrecht, january 14, 2007
trombone, voice

note left by an anonymous listener 2006 (early midday)
“if i may make one request: please, no bertl muetter (and consorts) early in the morning. i have to turn down the radio because my ears just can’t stand that noise. even my cats are looking all indignant, so i know my taste can’t be all that reprehensible. and when i turn the radio down, i forget to turn it back up and so i miss bruckner and suchlike.”

2007
well, neither suchlike nor the organ is going to get you past the graveyard, not even in good weather. aequale—a mostly serious piece for several of the same instruments that can also be played outside in bad weather without damaging the instruments. here: a trombone played multi-phonically.
anton bruckner sends his regards.
as far as the indignant pussycats are concerned—minz and maunz, i presume—i refer you to the final scene in the dreadful story of poor little pauline in shockheaded peter, an aequal lachrymal flood of tears, so to speak.
nb: since the piece—even played short and sweet, is very tragic, i couldn’t bring myself to call this addition to the second edition a bonus track; let’s save that for number eight [8].

 

7     kuß am schluß / one last kiss     3:38
basilica mariazell, may 12, 1993
trombone, voice

1993
dedicated to josef haslinger. while in a train he asked other travellers in the restaurant car to help him define the taste of earwax (tangy?... bitter?) “have you ever tongued an ear?” one last kiss is perhaps one approach to this question. i recommend that you wear headsets while listening to this miniature.

2007
due to the spelling reform (ss instead ß) this has since morphed into a sharper-tongued kissss. and it’s since become impossible to imagine the scenario depicted here: where on earth is there still a dining car in a train? everywhere, these cramped buffet cars, which veritably declare the passengers legally incompetent, offering their unimaginative crapola. (i’ve deliberately included this gratuitous commentary here because i hope that, by the time the need comes along for a third edition—and it most certainly will—i can report on the thoroughgoing re-introduction of dining cars, even in trains traveling only within austria’s border, for example, between innsbruck and graz. [hoc] credo quia absurdum.)
so what do you think about these theatrics?! it starts [6] at the grave (and it occurs to me now: one day in early spring the guy this is dedicated to and i were in jerusalem, on mount zion in fact, after we’d escaped from a cemetery that was locked down from behind, secured by a concrete wall and barbed wire—they are especially careful in these parts, because back in the day, two others had gotten away). afterward [hic], the headphones. and as an epilogue, following that one last kiss, [8] the telephone.
“i don’t know, is it supposed to mean anything?—yeah.” (werner pirchner)

 

8     preislied/prize song (bonus)    3:22

graz, 1994 (exact date unknown), via telephon; add
cardboard tubes, trombone, voice, analog teddybear sound generator

“prize comes from praise" (erwin ringel).
if you want to know what it feels like to work at a call center, then just keep your headphones on for this one. this documentary recording (and it should not be received as anything else) was created as a telephone statement on the subject of honorary awards and was first published on the cd werkstadt graz preis – österreichbild, a trans-media research project on the culture of honorary awards in austria.
nb (1): the prize at issue here was the city of graz’s emerging artist’s prize, awarded to me by a decision of the city council of the provincial capital of graz in its session on december 15, 1989, and received on february 13, 1990 “for substantial contributions in the field of music”. (how could they have known already back then?)
nb (2): the bank account given here has been closed, the bank sold many a time; if you would like to inquire after my current account information, please see the © copyright page. praise & gratitude in advance.

 

Nach oben

editorial acknowledgement 2007

this new edition has benefited greatly from the many inquiries and insights offered by the circle of readers, listeners and researchers in the field—so many in number that only a general group acknowledgment is possible. perhaps you will recognize your own contribution in one spot or another.

 

acknowledgements 1993 (short version 2007)

many have helped me. i haven’t forgotten anyone.

 

biographical note

"bertl muetter may in fact be very talented. but he makes horrendous music." (source known to the editor).

1993
bertl muetter, was born in 1965 in steyr, upper austria and freelances in steyr, graz and vienna. feel free to contact me, for the chance to get the sensational, promotional details that make art more artificial (workshops with..., played with..., concerts in...).

2007
bertl muetter, date of birth unchanged, 1965 in steyr, and still living as a freelance, in vienna and elsewhere. if you’d like to know even more, please have a look at my highly recommendable website www.muetter.at, where you can get the daily mother lode from my muetterlog. (sorry, but it's in deutsch)

 

translated by lilian friedberg, cdp

Nach oben

agenda

 

bio

solo

ensemble

komposition

dramaturgie

text

workshop

schule des staunens

 

audio

foto

video

 

finden

impressum

 

muetter.at
muetter.at
muetter.at

grenzkæmpfe booklet (de)


bertl mütter solo

cd arbe 2 | isbn 978-3-85129-643-3

1. auflage 1993 (vergriffen)
2., beträchtlich erweiterte, völlig überarbeitete, vielfach verbesserte und neu gestaltete ausgabe (2007); innovativ mit bonus- und malustrack!

 

vorwort zur ersten auflage (1993)

es ist zeit geworden, meine soloarbeit der letzten jahre zu dokumentieren.
alle titel dieser cd entstanden zu konzertbedingungen, jedoch ohne publikum.
die musik spielt in drei räumen: in der neutralen, privaten situation des studios, dem öffentlichen kultraum der basilika zu mariazell und in der unterwelt des wasserspeichers rosenberg I in graz.

 

vorbedingung zu einer zweiten auflage (2007)

vergriffen. ein wort, das die augen von händlern antiquarischer bücher und tonträger aufleuchten lässt. als die bestellung eines bescheidenen quantums von grenzkæmpfen seitens meines segensreichen vertriebs, dem wieser verlag, nach umfangreicher lagerrecherche von mir mit "tut mir leid, ausverkauft" quittiert werden musste, wusste ich, dass es so weit war. das nichtbedienenkönnen dieser unerwarteten nachfrage (es musste jedenfalls eine immense sein, genauer besehen dann: dreizehn; aber: was eine zahl!, was ein erfolg!) schmeckte urplötzlich nach ruhm noch zu lebzeiten, so etwas euphorisiert jeden künstler und produzenten seiner selbst. sofort war klar: die zweite auflage muss her, der markt schreit förmlich danach.

 

vorwort zur zweiten auflage (2007)

ich will mir keine bücher ausleihen, habe, in wellen, die angewohnheit, sie vollzukritzeln: was mir besonders gut gefällt (!), was mich amüsiert (☺), was mir fragwürdig erscheint (?), was ich mir merken und später auf anhieb wieder parat haben können will (strich am rand bzw. wortgenaues unterstreichen, lineallos), zudem wird das buch mit klammern vollgespickt (eselsohren sind tabu). schaue ich dann jahre später wieder in ein derart individualisiertes buch, wundere ich mich: bitte, was habe ich da markiert? heute würde ich ganz was anderes unterstreichen; vieles ist mir jetzt klar, manches aber auch unklar geworden, kontexte sind verlorengegangen, andere zusammenhänge, ja netzwerke haben sich ergeben. jedenfalls schaut mir aus dem buch ein fremder mensch entgegen, der ich selber bin.
solange wir am leben sind, kann es kein endergebnis geben. heuer werde ich zweiundvierzig, werde aber immer auch, zugleich, vier, sieben, elf, achtzehn oder neunundzwanzig sein. die frage ist, was wird sich später als jahresring oder aber als blatt erweisen?, und manche behaupten ja, immergrün zu sein.
beim nochmaligen durchsehen dieses heftleins (erste auflage) ist es mir ähnlich ergangen: war ich das wirklich?, bin ich das wirklich? – aber ja!
genau deshalb habe ich mich entschieden, die originalen texte mit meinen heutigen, ebenso vorläufigen positionen zu kombinieren. mehr dazu in der folgenden editorischen notiz.
undtrotzdemaber: einmal muss schluss sein (hier: redaktionsschl.).
oderanders: jedes fragment ist eo ipso vollkommen.


editorische notiz zur zweiten auflage (2007)

mit dieser neuen, umfassend umgearbeiteten auflage blicken die grenzkæmpfe in ihrer geschlossenheit nun auf ein dreizehnjähriges bestehen zurück. erste vorstudien datieren gar, wie sich unschwer rekonstruieren lässt, 1991, sodass wir, völlig überrascht von der, wie es scheinen musste, plötzlichen und unerwartet großen nachfrage ernsthaft zu erwägen begannen und nach einem intensiven diskussionsprozess schließlich beschlossen, die beträchtliche editorische anstrengung einer neuausgabe anzugehen, wobei man rasch gewärtigte, sich nicht allein mit einem faksimile des originals zufriedengeben zu können, sondern dasselbe einer gründlicheren bearbeitung unterziehen zu müssen, es dabei um neues erweitern und hinsichtlich der präzisierung von daten auf den allerneuesten stand zu bringen habe, so mussten etwa, da es sich mittlerweile als notwendig erwiesen hatte, bei der angabe der aufnahmedaten dieselben um die führenden ziffern zur präzisen jahrhundertangabe ergänzt werden, zudem wurde besonderes augenmerk darauf gelegt, objektiv an dem strikten, einer nachhaltigen qualitätssicherung dienenden erweiterungsprinzip festzuhalten, bei der aufnahme von neuen beziehungsweise neu aufgefundenen, in ihrer wahren bedeutung erst jetzt erkannten stücken, kleinodien, jawohl, jede invordergrundstellung einer der modernen musikalischen strömungen zu vermeiden, wodurch einzigundallein es, wie wir hoffen, zu jener angestrebten merklichen vertiefung und inhaltlichen ausweitung fern alles modischen, gar modernistischen, kommen konnte, wir mithin ein in sich geschlossenes, nicht aber, wie noch zu zeigen sein wird, abgeschlossenes oder, horribile dictu!, verschlossenes werk vorlegen können, nach welchem das kundige fachpublikum, aber auch der interessierte laie, wie sich gezeigt hat, allzu lange verlangt hat, ein mangel, dem nun abhilfe verschafft werden konnte, in stetem bewusstsein, dass eine vollendete perfektion niemals völlig erreichbar sein kann, weshalb wir es zugleich nicht verabsäumen wollen, ihnen für ihre geschätzte nachsicht zu danken, weil es so sein musste, dass, nicht zuletzt wegen des zeitdrucks, diese neuauflage zwar in einfacheren inhaltlichen fragen auf den neuesten stand gebracht werden konnte, jedoch verbesserungen, die zusätzliche eigene untersuchungen und weiterführende überlegungen erfordert hätten, ebenso wie systematische bibliographische sammlungen in vielen, nicht jedoch in allen fällen zurückgestellt werden mussten, aber, das sei versprochen, in zukunft, und dorthin sei unser blick, sei er pessimistisch, indifferent oder, und das wollen wir hoffen, hoffnungsfroh gerichtet, wird es möglicherweise möglich sein, allfällig sich als notwendig erweisende laufende verbesserungen und aktualisierungen auf elektronischem wege in kürzeren abständen zur verfügung stellen zu können, wodurch es nicht nur, da mit allerneuesten technischen mitteln erarbeitet, heutigen, sondern auch zukünftigen ansprüchen genügen wird können und zudem der forschung auch nachmaliger generationen neue möglichkeiten zu eröffnen zu versprechen verspricht.

 


 

1    gedscho    5:52

graz, 12. april 1991
posaune stimme; aad

1993
(–)

2007
tja, die akrobatische virtuosität. post festum will ich das heroisch-hohe be nach dieser triolenkaskade herrn marsalis und seinen grimmigen rittern von der eingreiftruppe der int. jazzpolizei widmen.
achten sie bitte nicht auf den charmanten analogbandbedingten voraushall (aber das geht jetzt wohl nicht mehr).
achja: bei der instrumentenliste habe ich das trillerpfeiferl vergessen, weilnämlich: weidageds

 

2    „…denn die grenzkæmpfe hœren niemals auf…”    28:06
basilika mariazell, 10.–12. mai 1993
posaune, stimme, live-elektronik

entstanden als kompositionsauftrag für das forum feldkirch
uraufgeführt am 23. april 1992 im dom st. nikolaus, feldkirch

1993
der boden, auf dem wir fest zu stehen meinen, ist messers schneide. kaum ein hauch trennt uns vom abgrund. aber wir nehmen stets die uns genehme seite der statistik in anspruch. die chance im lotto zu gewinnen ist geringer, als die, an krebs zu sterben. wären wir uns dessen immer bewusst, es würde uns zerfetzen. im hic et nunc ist die statistik bedeutungslos: was nützt dem, der abstürzt, die tatsache, dass fliegen die sicherste fortbewegungsart ist?
groß angekündigtes bleibt wirkungslos, kleinste abweichungen lösen katastrophen aus. 3° nach links auf der geraden haben größere auswirkungen als 90° an einer kreuzung. es kommt eben auf den zusammenhang an.
grenzkæmpfe wörtlich: es ist krieg im süden. danse de la fureur. die sequenz mit oktavierter posaune bezieht sich auf olivier messiĺns quatour pour la fin du temps, wunsch nach der aufhebung der zeit.
nicht alles aber ist finster. die kleinen abweichungen können auch wunder bewirken, will ich glauben.
sich erheben, loslassen, wenn die zeit dafür gekommen ist, weiter gehen: "solange du nicht zu steigen aufhörst, hören die stufen nicht auf, unter deinen steigenden füßen, wachsen sie aufwärts." (franz kafka)

2007
viel bewegung im damals noch unrenovierten kirchenraum. besonders intensiv habe ich in erinnerung, wie ich zum einpegeln des kunstkopfmikrophons fritz wunderlich das durchaus heidnische trinklied vom jammer der erde in die basilika schmettern habe lassen. die hommage à messiæn hat das ganze dann rekatholisiert; aber siehe, auch das nur scheinbar.

krieg im süden ist immer, mal mehr, mal weniger östlich, grenzkæmpfe inwendig beständig; undaberdoch: „die erde ist ein gewalttätiges paradies.” (ryszard kapuściński)
durchunddurch ungeschönt ist ddgkhna, wenn ich es staunend wiederhöre, jedenfalls eine affirmation, ungute kompromisse loszuwerden.
ein dunkler mutmacher.

 

3    de profundis    5:24
wasserspeicher rosenberg I, graz, 9. juni 1993
posaune, stimme

1837
„(as-dur) ist die tonart, bei welcher die seele für ein ueberirdisches aufgeht, und ahndungen eines jenseits oder einer höheren beglückung faßt (... sie) zeichnet den frommen, frieden gottes athmenden sinn und erhebt zur unendlichkeit eines seligen gefühls (...) es kann aber die bedeutungsvolle sehnsucht auch eine dunklere farbe annehmen oder mit schwermuth wechseln (...)
ferdinand gotthelf hand: aesthetik der tonkunst, leipzig 1837-41

1993
3 würdest du, herr, unsere sünden beachten,
herr, wer könnte bestehen? (...)
6
meine seele wartet auf den herrn,
mehr als die wächter auf den morgen.
(psalm 130)

2007
dunkel, weiter, beklemmend schön. mehr ein wegschicken als ein herbeiflennen, kann ich, mit abstand, verraten. am ende wächst dann dieser warme as-dur-klang heraus. den kann nicht einmal die zugeknallte tür verscheuchen.
es bruzzelt, so ist es nun einmal. sie können sich entweder entscheiden, dies großzügig zuzulassen, oderaber sie staunen, wie der künstler bereits 1993 das um die zwischenzeitlich begangene jahrtausendwende unerlässliche dj-remixknistern, backenbärtiges aus-klang-mach-kunst-schlagobers, vorausahnen und wohlig schmerzhaft umsetzen konnte.

 

4    idylle    6:42
graz, 12. april 1991
posaune, stimme, kleininstrumente; aad

1993
idylle.

2007
und wieder keine jazz.
der das aufgenommen hat ist heute professer. als hätt' ich's geahnt.
idyllisch.

 

5    palimpsest    10:17
basilika mariazell, 8. juni 1993
posaune, stimme, okarina, tritonmuschel, live-elektronik

1993
palimpsestos (griech.) – abgeschabtes und zum zweiten mal benutztes pergament. es scheinen alte schichten durch; mahler, schubert.

2007
eigentlich paradox: ein palimpsest, aufgenommen in einem durch, als first take.
okarina, wie ein naturlaut. der haut goût der muschel. dann, wie ein kondukt, bahnt er sich den weg zur großen symphonie, findet sie, hinter einer klangwolke (oder ist es eine wasserwalze?) verborgen, und will doch, erstmals, mit dem barfuß auf dem eise hinundher wankenden abgehn. aber er bleibt, abschaben hinoderher.

 

6    æquale (malus)   1:41
chorzimmer, stift st. lambrecht, 14. jänner 2007
posaune

anonyme hörernotiz, 2006 (vormittags)
„wenn ich eine bitte hätte: bitte keinen bertl mütter (und konsorten) am morgen. ich muss dann das radio abdrehen, denn diesen krach vertragen meine ohren nicht. auch meine katzen sehen ganz indigniert in die gegend, daran erkenne ich, dass mein geschmack nicht unbedingt der verwerflichste ist. wenn ich das radio abdrehe, vergesse ich, wieder aufzudrehen und damit entgeht mir bruckner und dergl.”

2007
weder mit dergl noch mit der orgl kannst du, nicht einmal bei schönwetter, auf den friedhof hinaus. æquale - musikstück vorwiegend ernsten charakters für mehrere gleichartige instrumente, die auch bei schlechtwetter im freien gespielt werden können, ohne schaden zu nehmen. hier: eine gleichzeitig mehrstimmig gespielte posaune.
einen schönen gruß von anton bruckner soll ich ausrichten.
was (ich vermute) minz und maunz, die (indignierten) katzen betrifft, so verweise ich auf das schlussbild vom armen paulinchen im struwwelpeter, eine æquale tränenfluth (gewissermaßen).
nb: da das stück, wenn auch frisch-herb gespielt, sehr tragisch ist, war es mir leider nicht möglich, diese neuauflagenzuwaage bonus zu nennen; freuen sie sich aber mit mir auf die nummer [8].

 

7    kuß am schluß    3:38
basilika mariazell, 12. mai 1993
posaune stimme

1993
josef haslinger gewidmet; auf einer gemeinsamen zugfahrt bat er im speisewagen einige mitreisende, ihm bei der definition des geschmacks von ohrenschmalz (herb?... bitter?) behilflich zu sein: „haben sie noch nie in einem ohr geschleckt?” kuß am schluß ist eine mögliche annäherung an diese frage. ich empfehle, beim abhören dieser miniatur einen kopfhörer zu verwenden.

2007
zwischenzeitlich zum zungenspitzeren kuss am schluss mutiert. zwischenzeitlich auch nicht mehr möglich, ich meine die ausgangssituation: wo fährt denn heute noch ein speisewagen? überall diese patscherten, den fahrgast entmündigenden büffetwagerl mit ihrem einfallslosen zeug. (diese ansich überflüssige bemerkung habe ich hier absichtlich eingefügt, weil ich hoffen will, dass ich anlässlich der zweifellos sich als nötig erweisenden dritten auflage von der flächendeckenden wiedereinführung von speisewagen auch auf rein innerösterreichischen zügen – etwa zwischen innsbruck und graz – berichten werde können; [hoc] credo quia absurdum.)
was sagen sie zu dieser dramaturgie?! zuerst [6] am grab (da fällt mir ein: eines vorfrühlingstags sind der widmungsträger und ich in jerusalem, am berg zion gar, aus einem hinterrücks verriegelten, mit betonzaun und stacheldraht gesicherten – man passt auf: in dieser gegend sind schon zumindest zwei entkommen – friedhof ausgebüxt). danach [hic] der kopfhörer. und epilogisch, nach dem kuss am schluss, [8] das telephon.
„ich weiß nicht, soll's was bedeuten? – jå.” (werner pirchner)

 

8     preislied (bonus)    3:22

graz, frühjahr 1994; add (via telephon)
kartonröhre, posaune, stimme, analoger teddybärgebrummgenerator

„preis kommt von preisen.” (erwin ringel)
wenn sie sich einmal wie ein callcentermitarbeiter fühlen wollen, dann lassen sie den kopfhörer gleich auf. dieses tondokument (und als nichts anderes möge es rezipiert werden) entstand nämlich als telephonisches statement zum thema ehrenpreise und wurde 1994 erstmals veröffentlicht auf der cd werkstadt graz preis - österreichbild, einem transmedialen forschungsprojekt über die ehrenpreiskultur in österreich.
nb (1): beim angesprochenen preis handelt es sich um den förderungspreis der stadt graz, welcher mir nach einem beschluss des stadtsenats der landeshauptstadt graz in seiner sitzung vom 15. dezember 1989 am 13. februar 1990 für "besondere verdienste auf dem gebiete der musik" zuerkannt wurde. (woher die das gewusst haben, damals schon?)
nb (2): das angegebene konto ist gelöscht, die bank mehrfach verkauft; wollen sie bitte meine aktuelle kontonummer dem © impressum entnehmen. preis & dank im voraus.

Nach oben

editorischer dank 2007

der vorliegenden neuauflage sind viele anfragen und hinweise aus dem kreis der leser, hörer und der fachforschung zugute gekommen. es waren viele – und deshalb muss der dank pauschal bleiben. an der einen oder der anderen stelle mögen sie die spuren ihrer hilfe erkennen können.

 

dank 1993 (kurzfassung 2007)

geholfen haben mir viele. ich habe niemanden vergessen.

 

biographische notiz

„bertl mütter wäre ja ganz gut begabt. aber er macht eine scheußliche musik.” (name d. red. persönl. bek.)

1993
bertl mütter, geboren 1965 in steyr, oberösterreich. lebt freischaffend in steyr, graz und wien. sensationelle, absatzfördernde, die kunst künstlicher machende details (workshops bei ..., spielt/e mit ..., konzerte in ...) erfahren sie vielleicht, wenn sie mich kontaktieren.

2007
bertl mütter, immer noch 1965 in steyr geboren. und lebt freischaffend so weiter, in wien und sonstwo. wenn sie noch mehr wissen wollen, schauen sie sich doch bitte auf meiner sehr empfehlenswerten website www.muetter.at um. und lesen sie täglich das muetterlog.

Nach oben

agenda

 

bio

solo

ensemble

komposition

dramaturgie

text

workshop

schule des staunens

 

audio

foto

video

 

finden

impressum

 

muetter.at
muetter.at
muetter.at