parlando

cd arbe 12 (2004) | ISBN 978-3-85129-641-9

When I was much younger I used to turn the tuning dial on my radio to move the pointer from left to right on the scale and back again; I'd hear warm rustling background static, and now and then a brief bar of music or scrap of speech (scarcely anything in German), but I seldom halted long enough to learn exactly what was being broadcast. If I did stop on a spoken word, then the randomly-found announcer was speaking in a completely unintelligible jargon; unintelligible to me, anyway. Apart from a scenic view from the Moldau Tower or a hike on the Dreisesselberg this was for years my sole direct impression of the former East Bloc.
The enormous potential in the simultaneity of all possible broadcasts together with the incidental hiss of static (this has no similarity to the purposeless flipping through TV channels by pressing buttons on the remote control, the ice-cold silence of ant wars, the threatening echo of the Big Bang when only stillness is emitted from a node where a memory had been stored), forced a magnetical magical attraction on me. This dual magical-in-itself green light (a colour which, when emerging years later in the new mint-flavoured tooth gel, immediately evoked trust in me through familiarity) in the slot on the front of the apparatus seemed to want to jump out from left and right and merge together, then after uniting in accord with reception strength immediately forced to spring apart because I turned the dial further, except Sundays, around ten past eight, after the news, the provincial station gave the daily flying weather — achtelatostratocumulus — which was for me the magic word to not move the dial and stay tuned for Radio Wien, eat breakfast with Granny, and listen with all the other Austrians of every age and sex to learn What's New? from the legendary Heinz Conrads.
And then quickly rush over to the church to assume my role as an altar boy.
http://old.muetter.at/CDs/parlando/parlando_english.php#om

There were several summers when I even had the devout impulse to volunteer for chorister duty during the week. I was allowed to perform at readings and intercessions, and at funerals with the sound level suitably subdued. That worked out OK, and if tipping had been customary in Münichholz I would have earned quite well. I would surely have done better out in some rural area, in Raming say, or on the Wachtberg.
Obelix
had already had his full share of magic potion in early childhood, enough to last for the rest of his life. Similarly, I had mine in the course of ministrating, and together with my one year theology studies in Graz, I found it all fairly interesting. (Faced with especially ticklish ventures, Obelix had even dredged up a couple extra drops of courage). Enough for theology. Today I am not even numbered among the laymen. However, liturgical rites remain familiar to me still. After all, what's been learned can't be unlearned.
In the summer of 1991 I was invited to a gathering of artists in St. Lambrecht. Multiple friendly relationships have since resulted, both within and outside of cloistral circles. Free from expectations whatsoever I can compose myself for a new creative process, and when there's something to celebrate — the Mayor's wife's birthday, styriarte music festival, Gerwig's ordination — I'm there. A musical rappelling maneuver with the euphonium at the infamous Wilde Loch in Grebenzen shows how much my music is valued: after playing, they pulled me out again. (We've heard of no similar experience with Troubadix.)
Two days and two nights at the start of summer — the time had come. I took on three gigs: at the Peterskirche, plain, middling small, Gothic altar, at the Romanesque Karner, dedicated to the Last Judgment, and in the Schlosskapelle — castle chapel, located in the dilapidated abbot's castle above the cloister, a spot more secular than religious. Three very different settings and yet interwoven with one another in a temporal relationship of 30 to 30 to 20 minutes, profound listening in new and unimagined interiors, undreamed-of even by me.

It all has to do with nothing other than Pure Music, and as music has for ages been described in Italian, I also call the parlando pieces prologo, melodia, drammatico or esaurimentato. Indeed, they name themselves, they've told their names to me in playing and told them again in listening.
To me all music is speech, in this special case spontaneous speech. If you come right down to it, when people speak to each other on a mutual theme — and have something of import to say — it's improvisation (as a rule much is unspoken, merely implied), and the conversation goes running along by itself: words, grammar, syntax, remark, rejoinder . . . and ideally, a fine wine to go with it. 
Aside from utterances characteristic of so-called cultivated conversation, there are of course (and much more customary) expressions of everyday utility: dammit!, a cup of coffee, please, can you try to close your door more quietly . . .
It's curious that, with the exception of liturgical and ceremonial recitations which require repetition in order to be effective, there is one profession, where in the main nothing is spoken spontaneously: our actors are paid to perform and speak for us their well-tested lines of dialogue as if they were created on the spur of the moment. The public attends theaters in order to see the actors and actresses act and to hear those cleverly-fashioned words spoken, and the public values and applauds this deception — as well.
In music too, predetermined interpretations are reproduced. However, it says here that jazz music has a high improvisational content. I doubt that. How does one attain that highest possible unintentional (pure) musicality? And hear this: Who is it then who could actually step up onto a podium at the last critical moment with his noggin completely empty? Lenz (Georg Büchner’s novel; at least he had the decency to be embarrassed for not being able to walk on his head)? Simon Tanner? Zeno Cosini? Ulrich? Kaspar Hauser? Gregor Samsa?
[Here the text breaks off.]
And that’s what parlando is all about.

I'm eagerly awaiting further developments.

 

Bertl Mütter, 15 October 2004
Translation: David Koblick

Nach oben


parlando (cd arbe 12, 2004)
Bertl Mütter – trombone, euphonium, voice, composition

Recorded June 2004 in St. Lambrecht, Styria
For more informations (inlay card) click here.

Nach oben


erklärung

As always, no conditional motives of any sort are linked to the present CD. Should it occur in future that the opposite turns out to be the case, I hereby today also expressly disassociate myself from such occurrence.


Nach oben

agenda

 

bio

solo

ensemble

komposition

dramaturgie

text

workshop

schule des staunens

 

audio

foto

video

 

finden

impressum

 

muetter.at
muetter.at
muetter.at

parlando

cd arbe 12 (2004) | ISBN 978-3-85129-641-9

Beim Radio, wenn man an der Skala von links nach rechts und wieder zurück gedreht hat, war da dieses warme Rauschen, und manchmal waren kurz irgend ein Musikstück oder Sprachfetzen zu hören (kaum etwas auf Deutsch), und nie hat nur der Funken einer Chance bestanden, zu erfahren, was man da eben im Hörfunk gesendet hatte, und wenn, dann redete die zufällig angetroffene Ansagerin in einer ganz und gar unverständlichen Sprache; sieht man vom Moldaublick oder vom Dreisesselberg ab, so war dies lange Zeit mein einziger direkter Eindruck vom Ostblock.
Das ungeheure Potenzial, wenn ich mir die Gleichzeitigkeit aller möglichen Sendungen vorstellte, und das absichtslose Durchrauschen (das nicht zu vergleichen ist mit dem öden Durchzappen auf der Fernseherfernbedienung und dem eiskalten Ameisenkrieg, Echo des Urknalls, der droht, wenn an einem Speicherplatz kein Sender eingestellt ist) übten eine magische Anziehung auf mich aus. Magisch war auch dieses grüne Licht (eine Farbe, die erst Jahre später bei den neuen Mint-Zahngels wieder auftauchen sollte, was bei mir sofort Vertrauen durch Vertrautheit bewirkte) im Schlitz an der Vorderseite der Stofffront des Apparats, das von links und rechts außen zueinander wollte und sich je nach Empfangsstärke recht träge mit sich vereinte und gleich wieder trennen musste, denn ich habe weiter gedreht, nur am Sonntag um zehn nach acht, wenn die Landesnachrichten mit den Flugwetterwerten der Wetterwarte Hörsching, achtelatostratocumulus, langsam Richtung Großer Sendesaal des Wiener Funkhauses wiesen, war es Zeit zu verweilen, um gemeinsam mit Oma beim Frühstück bis gegen neun mit allen anderen Österreicherinnen und Österreichern und allen Marodnmadlnundbuam zu erfahren Was gibt es Neues.
Dann aber schnell hinüber in die Kirche zum Ministrieren.

Es hat ein paar Sommer gegeben, in denen ich den heiligen Ehrgeiz hatte, auch unter der Woche täglich zu ministrieren. Lesung und Fürbitten durfte ich dabei auch vortragen, bei den Begräbnissen mit entsprechend gedämpftem Ton. Das ist gut angekommen, und wäre in Münichholz Trinkgeld üblich gewesen, ich hätte ganz gut verdient. Auf dem Land hätte man sein sollen, in der Raming etwa oder am Wachtberg.
Obelix hat seine volle Portion Zaubersaft in der frühen Kindheit bekommen, das war genug fürs restliche Leben. Ähnlich verhält sich das bei mir mit dem Ministrieren, und auch in dem einen Jahr Theologie in Graz war das alles meist recht interessant. (Vor besonders gefährlichen Einsätzen hat auch Obelix ein paar Extratropfen erhalten.) Dann aber war es genug, und mittlerweile bin ich nicht einmal mehr Laie. Die liturgischen Dinge sind mir aber noch recht vertraut, gelernt ist eben gelernt.
Im Sommer 1991 war ich zur Künstlerbegegnung in St. Lambrecht eingeladen. Seither haben sich vielfältige freundschaftliche Beziehungen ergeben, diesseits und jenseits der Clausura. Ohne jede Vereinnahmung kann ich mich hier für neue kreative Prozesse sammeln, und wenn es was zu feiern gibt (Geburtstag der Bürgermeistersgattin, styriarte-Landpartie, Gerwigs Priesterweihe), bin ich auch dabei. Wie sehr man meine Musik mag, hat ein musikalisches Abseilmanöver mit dem Euphonium ins berüchtigte Wilde Loch auf der Grebenzen gezeigt: Sie haben mich nach dem Spielen wieder herausgezogen. (Von Troubadix ist solches nicht überliefert.)
Zwei Tage und zwei Nächte Anfang des Sommers war es dann so weit: Ich habe in der Peterskirche (mittelklein, schlicht; gotischer Altar), im für die Letzten Dinge reservierten romanischen Karner und in der Schlosskapelle (bei mir weltlich konnotiert) im über dem Kloster gelegenen Areal des verfallenen Äbteschlosses aufgenommen. Drei sehr verschiedene, gleichwohl miteinander verwobene Sätze im Verhältnis 30:30:20 Minuten sind das Destillat, ein tiefes Horchen in auch für mich neue und ungeahnte Innenräume.

Es geht um nichts anderes als um Pure Musik, und weil Musik die längste Zeit italienisch beschrieben worden ist, nennen sich die Stücke auf parlando auch prologo, melodia, drammatico oder esaurimentato. Ja, sie nennen sich, haben mir ihren Namen selbst eingesagt beim Spielen, und noch einmal beim Anhören.
Musik ist bei mir Reden, und im speziellen Fall ist es ein spontanes Reden. Wie man ja auch, wenn man miteinander spricht (und sich was zu sagen hat) letztlich improvisiert, sich (in der Regel unausgesprochener Weise) auf ein Thema einigt, dann kommt das Werkl ganz von selbst ins Laufen: Vokabel, Grammatik, Syntax, Gliederung, Rede, Gegenrede. Und idealer Weise einen feinen Wein dazu.
Abgesehen von einem derartigen gepflegten Gespräch gibt es natürlich (und vor allem) die alltägliche Gebrauchssprache: sGott, eine Melange bitte, Kannst du bitte deine Tür leise zumachen.
Schon kurios, dass es, abgesehen von kultisch-liturgischen Abläufen, die der wirkmächtigen Wiederholung des Immergleichen bedürfen, genau einen Beruf gibt, wo überwiegend nicht Spontanes geredet wird: Unsere Schauspieler werden bezahlt, damit sie uns vorspielen, ihre wohlgeprobten Dialoge entstünden im Augenblick, seien das Richtige Leben; das Publikum geht ins Theater, um sich das anzuschauen, und es schätzt auch diesen Betrug.
Auch in der Musik wird meist Vorherbestimmtes wiedergegeben. Die Jazzmusik aber hat einen hohen Improvisationsanteil, heißt es. Ich bezweifle das. Wie ließe sich ein weitest möglich absichtsloses (reines) Musizieren erreichen? Und: wer könnte denn überhaupt und in letzter Konsequenz gänzlich blank aufs Podium gehen? Lenz? (…dem war es immerhin unangenehm, dass er nicht auf dem Kopf gehn konnte.) Simon Tanner? Zeno Cosini? Ulrich? Kaspar Hauser? Gregor Samsa?
[Hier bricht der Text ab.]
Um all das geht es auf parlando.

Ich bin gespannt, wie es weiter geht.


bertl mütter, 15. oktober 2004

Nach oben


erklärung

Mit vorliegender CD sind keinerlei wie immer geartete Absichten verbunden. Sollte sich später einmal das Gegenteil herausstellen, so distanziere ich mich bereits heute ausdrücklich auch davon.

bertl mütter, im sommer 2004

Nach oben

agenda

 

bio

solo

ensemble

komposition

dramaturgie

text

workshop

schule des staunens

 

audio

foto

video

 

finden

impressum

 

muetter.at
muetter.at
muetter.at